Finding Your Planetary Twin

Read on to find your planetary twin!

We have talked about the best and worst love matches, solar opposites and descendant signs. We have talked at length about the compatibility of Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius, and Pisces. And last week we talked about the best zodiac friendship squads.

And this week I’m coming at you with another compatibility article. Anyone who has read the aforementioned articles knows that earth signs are not compatible with air signs and fire signs are not compatible with water signs. They may also remember that signs who share a modality are not romantically compatible. But what if I told you that’s not always true? 

Every sign has a ruling planet. And most of the planets have two signs that they rule over. So it stands to reason that the signs that are ruled over the same planet have quite a bit in common. What’s interesting is that these planetary twins are usually not traditionally compatible in element or modality, but they are more similar than either of them may realize.

Read on to find out who your planetary twin is. Don’t forget to check your moon and rising signs as well as your sun sign. You can check your birth chart here.

The Mercury Twins – Gemini and Virgo


It’s hard to think of free-spirited Gemini and analytical Virgo as twins, but they have more in common than you think. Gemini and Virgo are ruled by Mercury. Mercury governs our communication as well as our technological prowess.

Mercury contributes to Gemini’s eloquent and loquacious nature. The air sign is one of the zodiac’s most poetic and verbally expressive signs. However, the small yet speedy planet also enhances Gemini’s erratic behavior.

Since Mercury is known to be, well, mercurial, it contributes to the mutable nature of Virgo. Virgo is not as unpredictable as Gemini, but they are just as adaptable, if not more so. Their mutability allows them to adjust to sudden and stressful changes.

But what do they have in common? Mercury is also the planet of focus and education. And both of these signs are known to be quite studious. Gemini is a bit more eclectic in their studies, and Virgo tends to be more analytical, but they can bond over an intense passion for knowledge.

The Venus Twins – Taurus and Libra


Like the above-mentioned mutable signs, you may wonder what an earth sign and an air sign have much in common. Taurus and Libra are ruled by Venus. Venus governs our romantic inclinations as well as our luxurious and aesthetic tastes.

Venus contributes to Taurus’ penchant for hedonism and luxury. Taureans love to eat their favorite meal, surrounded by their creature comforts, in the company of a lover, or at the very least, a close friend. 

Libra’s flirtatious nature and sociability can be blamed on the bright and epicurean planet. Their need for fairness and peace can be largely attributed to their desire to make everyone around them feel loved and wanted.

But what do they have in common? Well, quite a lot. They both love a good social gathering, and they strive to make their loved ones feel safe. If they can get past Taurus’ obstinance and Libra’s tendency to equivocate, they can get along quite well.

The Mars Twins – Aries and Scorpio 


Anyone who has ever met an Aries and a Scorpio probably won’t be surprised to learn that these two are planetary twins. Aries and Scorpio are ruled by Mars, though Mars is Scorpio’s ancient ruler. Scorpio’s current ruler is Pluto. Mars governs our passion and our drive.

Mars contributes to Aries’ passionate nature. Say what you want about Aries, but you have to admit they care an awful lot about, well, everything! Every decision they make is driven by an intense passion.

I have often said that Scorpio is the paramour of the zodiac, and for very good reason. Like Aries, Mars also drives Scorpio’s passion. But their passion is more of the sensual variety.

But what do they have in common? Both of the signs are quite intense, and they share a love of adventure. Their passionate natures are just different enough to bring out the best in each other. Aries brings light to the water sign’s dark broodiness, and Scorpio encourages the fire sign to express its sensuality.

The Jupiter Twins – Sagittarius and Pisces


These signs are truly two sides of the same coin. Sagittarius and Pisces are ruled by Jupiter, though Jupiter is Pisces’ ancient ruler. Pisces’ current ruler is Neptune. Jupiter governs our fortune, our talent, and our philosophical views.

Jupiter contributes to Sagittarius’ philosophical ways of thinking. The giant and stormy planet also encourages the fire sign to be self-reflective. Sagittarians are often so good at self-reflecting that they become downright broody.

Pisces’ ancient ruler also pushes them towards an interest in the metaphysical. But they are more drawn to the mystical and transcendental philosophies than their fiery twin.

The Jupiter twins can bond over a shared interest in philosophy. But these signs can also learn a lot from each other as well. Sagittarius can teach the water sign to be more introspective. And empathetic Pisces can teach Sagittarius to be more outward-looking.

The Saturn Twins – Capricorn and Aquarius


I know what you must be thinking. “There is absolutely no way that the no-nonsense cardinal sign has anything in common with the rebellious fixed sign.” Well, just hear me out. Capricorn and Aquarius are ruled by Saturn, though Saturn is Aquarius’ ancient ruler. Aquarius’ current ruler is Uranus. Saturn governs our sense of discipline and authority.

It’s probably quite obvious why Saturn governs Capricorn. The ringed giant contributes to Capricorn’s self-discipline and responsibility. It also enhances the earth sign’s leadership qualities.

Aquarius is known to be the revolutionary of the zodiac, so how on earth can the planet of authority rule them? Well, Saturn is also the planet of obligation, and Aquarius always feels very obligated to take care of their community and loved ones. 

But what do they have in common? Saturn inspires both of these signs to be fiercely protective. Capricorn wants its community to feel safe and guided. And Aquarius wants their community to feel seen and heard. If these two combined their strengths, they would be unstoppable.

I Guess We’ll Talk About Cancer and Leo (They don’t like to feel excluded)


Cancer and Leo are not really planetary twins because they are not ruled by the same planet. But they are ruled by our celestial parents, so they are not really similar but complementary. Leo is ruled by the sun, and Cancer is ruled by the moon. The sun governs our energy and vitality, and the moon governs our emotions.

The sun contributes to Leo’s spirit and exuberance, while the moon contributes to Cancer’s peaceful and empathetic nature.

Just as the sun’s rays bounce off of the moon, allowing it to shine, Leo encourages the creative water sign to shine. And just as the moon allows the sun to rest after a long day, Cancer brings a sense of peace and calm to the lively fire sign. 

They may not have much in common, but they can benefit greatly from each other.

The Latest...

Share the Love...