Tarot Tuesday: The Five of Swords

What does the Five of Swords have in store for you this week? Read on to find out!

Welcome to Tarot Tuesday!

Each Tuesday I pull a card from my grandmother’s tarot deck and write about what the card could mean for the signs, broken up by element. The elements of the zodiac are Fire (Aries, Leo, and Sagittarius), Earth (Taurus, Virgo, and Capricorn), Air (Gemini, Libra, and Aquarius), and Water (Cancer, Scorpio, and Pisces). 

I may pull a card from the major arcana, representing our inner wisdom. Or I may pull a suit card, representing outside influences. I may even pull a court card signifying a specific person in your life. This card can help you set your intention for the rest of the week or it can provide a visualization of your current situation. Don’t forget to check your moon and rising signs as well as your sun sign.

The Five of Swords


This week I pulled the Five of Swords. In tarot, the number five represents swift and positive words and action.

Swords are the suit of communication. But the suit can also represent logic, focus, and fearfulness. When a sword card pops up in a reading it can represent courage or a disruption of an unfair status quo. It can also represent fears that are holding us back.

In my grandmother’s deck, the card is depicted as a masculine figure dressed in red and green, holding three swords while two swords are lying at his feet. Two figures are retreating from him as he looks on smirking. Gray clouds are in the background.

Though the card’s image may vary from deck to deck, the meaning is often the same. It can represent overcoming arduous obstacles. It can also represent victory against difficult situations or people. However, this card can also represent a manipulative or traitorous friend. 

The Swords suit and the number five both represent communication, so if this card pops up in a reading, then it could be a sign to divulge your needs and stand up for yourself. 

What This Card Means for Fire Signs (Aries, Leo, Sagittarius)


Fire signs are ruled by their passion and drive. The Five of Swords speaks to their self-confidence and desire for victory.

Aries, you have been dealt a particularly difficult hand recently and your confidence may be dwindling as a result. You may feel like you can’t handle certain things on your own. This card wants you to know that you can. But it is okay to allow others to assist you. 

Leo, you have worked hard for everything that you have earned and should be proud of your accomplishments. All that being said, imposter syndrome may still rear its ugly head from time to time. If you are feeling particularly low, write down a list of your accomplishments and read them daily.

Sagittarius, you know that you have a slight tendency to be a know-it-all. This self-awareness can sometimes backfire on you and make you shrink yourself down if you feel like you are being “too much.” This card wants you to know that you are not too much. Make your voice heard!

What This Card Means for Earth Signs (Taurus, Virgo, Capricorn)


Earth signs are ruled by their dedication and desire. The Five of Swords speaks to their perseverance in the face of adversity.

Taurus, like all earth signs, you pride yourself on your determination and persistence. You may be particularly proud of yourself for how well you are able to handle stressful situations at your job. However, don’t be afraid to stand up to your employer if you feel like the work conditions are unacceptable.

Virgo, you are so incredibly strong. You have had to overcome some of the most difficult obstacles. Now it is time to pick up the pieces of what is left. It is okay to let yourself rest while you are figuring things out. 

Capricorn, this card wants you to stand your ground against people who may not have your best interests at heart. It is time to set boundaries and voice your concerns. You do not deserve to be pushed around.

What This Card Means for Air Signs (Gemini, Libra, Aquarius)


Air signs are ruled by their compassion and independence. This card may hold more significance for you because the Swords are the suit of air. The Five of Swords speaks to their need to stand up for themselves as well as others.

Gemini, as the most communicative sign in the zodiac, this card wants you to use your voice to enact positive change for your community. Your words can lift the spirits of those around you, so make sure that your voice is heard. 

Libra, if there is discord amongst your loved ones or community, it may be wise to impart your diplomatic gifts as a means to settle any conflicts. Offer a new perspective to those who may be acting a bit myopic.

Aquarius, this card wants you to trust your gut and make your opinions known. If something feels sketchy to you, do not keep it to yourself. This will benefit you and those around you in the long run. 

What This Card Means for Water Signs (Cancer, Scorpio, Pisces)


Water signs are ruled by their empathy and imagination. The Five of Swords speaks to their overly trusting nature, but it can also speak to their cunning nature as well.

Cancer, you have been struggling with difficult situations and emotions. You have succeeded in life without needing a lot of assistance. But if you find yourself hitting a wall, it may be time to seek help.

Scorpio, if you want to achieve a certain victory, you may have to be a little opportunistic. You have to overcome your insecurities and go after what you want out of life.

Pisces, it may be time to reevaluate some of your friendships. If you feel like you are being manipulated by someone whom you thought you could trust, do not be afraid to confront them. Your empathy is a gift and people shouldn’t take advantage of that.

Tune in next week for another tarot pull!

The Latest...

Share the Love...

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on linkedin
Share on reddit
Share on email